Thursday

February 26, 2009 at 10:32 pm 1 comment

There is a line in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in which Arthur Dent said to himself, “This must be Thursday,”……..”I could never get the hang of Thursdays.”

I, on the other hand, love Thursdays.  Thursday is the day I wrangle up the kiddos, herd them out the door, and scoot on over to a local church where we all get some quality time away from each other.  I’m able to drop the boys off in their respective classrooms where they can enjoy a couple hours of playing with their friends.  Then I have the privilege of, as I tell my three year old, “playing with my mommy friends.”

Ahhh, adult conversation without interruption. Time with friends. The opportunity to discuss God’s Word with an insightful group of women. A chance to learn, grow, and socialize. A chance to break away from the monotony of life at home with two young children.

But none of that will happen this Thursday. Kids are sick. Kids have been sick for a week and a half.

All day…..Whining. Crying. Complaining.

.….and that’s just how I’ve been coping. The boys have been doing their share of whining, crying, and complaining too. Along with coughing, sneezing, vomiting, and running fevers. I still can’t get the puke stain or smell out of the upholstery of my favorite chair.

They feel fine now, fevers are gone and they are both full of energy. But the doc said that they are contagious as long as they have a cough and runny nose. So, we remain in seclusion. I definitely don’t want to risk exposing any other families to this….this…..this….Thing.

There’s another reason I love Thursdays. Every Thursday night I try to get the kids in bed early for my absolute favorite part of the week…Office Thursday! I LOVE the show The Office. In fact, I believe my fanship has grown to the point that being a fan of the show has become as much a part of who I am as is being a wife, a mother, and a Christian, So, every Thursday night I take every precaution to ensure viewing bliss between 9-9:30pm. We have an early dinner, which gives me time to get the kitchen cleaned up, the kids in bed and DH’s lunch packed for the next day before my beloved show comes on..

But tonight’s episode is a rerun. Drat.

The house is a mess. I feel like I’m doing a ton, yet nothing is really getting done. Even the simplest tasks today feel like a struggle…

I don’t know, everything  just feels “off” today. Like I just can’t get the hang of things today.

I relate to Arthur Dent today.

Entry filed under: life.

laughing over spilled milk Me Time

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ck  |  March 1, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Thursdays are my day too! Both of my girls go to “school” at a local church and I get 4 hours to myself holed away in a coffee shop to write. I love that day so much it’s probably not healthy.

    And it’s also the day my daughters have both puked on me this winter (not the same Thursday) and it picked up the snow days AND Thanksgiving.

    On the upside, at least I’ve learned how not to sulk in front of them when my Thursday comes and we’re all still together in the house…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

