Well, That’s Life

March 3, 2009 at 7:03 pm 3 comments

I admit that my three year old’s passive aggressive behavior while I nurse his brother amuses me as much as it overwhelms and frustrates me at times. At least when he has an amusing reason for doing whatever it is that he did.

Like when he wanted to “clean the house” (to him, that means to vacuum) and he sprinkled cranberries all over the carpet then pretended to vacuum them up. The sight of little cranberries scattering the 378 square feet of our family room was just a funny sight to see.

 

dscn14592The sight of the ones he had run over with the vacuum, causing them to get ground into the carpet, was nauseating.  But, luckily our handy dandy steam cleaner did the trick and it all came out.

Then there was the time he was making a “special birthday cake.” I thought that I had put the finger paints out of reach. I was wrong. While cleaning up the kitchen after dinner, Sam was playing in the family room. Every so often, he would come in and say, “Mommy, I’m making a special birthday cake!” I just assumed (and I should know better…I know the old adage about what happens when we “assume” things), but I just assumed that he was pretending with some play dishes or – worst case scenario – he was making a play doh cake. Either way, he was leaving me alone long enough to load the dishwasher. When I finally came into the family room, he jumped up, took my hand, and proudly led me over to his new creation.

dscn1818

AHHHH! Well, we did our best, but this one never did come completely out of the carpet….but at least he helped clean up, eh?  dscn1821

Then there was the chocolate milk incident from my first post.

I don’t know, maybe there’s something wrong with me. Maybe my addiction to scrapbooking has stripped me of the ability to use good judgment as a parent. (These pics are going to make up a great scrapbook page some day though). But I really do think these things are kind of cute.  And even when they’re not so cute, I want to remember them.

Like his latest incident…

I sat quietly in my family room nursing the baby and reading blogs when I hear something in the kitchen. It’s the sound of something being poured out. I know this sound well. When I walked into the kitchen, I saw Sam sitting on the floor eating from huge pile of Life cereal with the dog.

dscn1924

I didn’t say a word, but immediately put him in his time out chair…then snapped a few pictures.

When his time out was up, I asked him why he had to be disciplined and he told me because he dumped out cereal. So I asked him why he dumped out the cereal. He replied in a sweet, very innocent, without-a-hint-of-sarcasm voice, “because I can.” I bit my lip to keep from laughing, explained to him why he most certainly can not, and told him he had to help me clean it up. So he resumed the position I found him in and started eating the cereal off the floor again.

Well, that’s  dscn1925

Entry filed under: life.

When Did I Grow Up? Beautiful Baby Week

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ck  |  March 3, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    My daughter’s favorite thing to do when I nursed her sister was to mimic me. She “nursed” her baby dolls, her stuffed animals, her marbles…

    She never quite understood why I was so slow at it and she loved to offer me pointers on how to speed up the process. SOOO helpful.

    Reply
  • 2. KathyB!  |  March 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    That’s adorable and frustrating all at the same time. I think that’s why kids are cute — if they weren’t, well, we might have to take ’em out!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m looking forward to vcoming back here and seeing what other craziness comes about : )

    Reply
  • […] April 9, 2009 Our family room is an addition to the back of our house and is semi-closed off from the other first floor rooms . It’s nice to have an out-of-sight space to keep toys, our comfy -but ugly- recliner, our elliptical machine that we never use, and all the baby gear we use fequently. The down side is that when I sit in the comfy-but ugly-recliner to feed the baby, I can’t see what kind of trouble my 3 year old is getting himself into. I have mentioned before about how Sam’s passive aggressive behavior while I nurse his brother simultaneously amuses and aggravates m… […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

