Beautiful Baby Week

March 5, 2009 at 2:11 am 2 comments

Here in Steeler country, people who can’t afford to have a cell phone or an internet connection wear $200 Steeler jerseys.  To church.  And are allotted the day off of work the day after a Steeler Superbowl.  So, to support my enthusiastic hometown, I dressed the boys up as Ben Roethlesburger (Steelers QB) and a referee for halloween.  We have a very cute picture of them in their costumes that I sent into Regis and Kelly’s Beautiful Baby Search contest.

Now, please don’t think that I’m one of those moms. I’m really not. I’ve never entered them into any type of contest before. Really. I have no delusions that either of them will receive an invite to NYC to be on the show. Moreover, I’m sure if my three year old were chosen, he would be ousted from the contest when it came time to do the mandatory Parents magazine photo shoot.

….He’s intimidated by the portrait studio at Sears.

But during “Beautiful Baby Week” (does it scream SAHM that I know that phrase?) they sometimes put up pictures of entries they’ve received according to theme. Today they did a series of babies sitting in pots wearing chef hats and another series of kids who were photographed next to the names “Regis and Kelly.”

The last time the Steelers won the Superbowl, I remember seeing a succession of pics featuring little ones in Steeler gear sent in by crazed fans from across the nation. (Steeler fandom really isn’t just a Pittsburgh obsession). So, since Pittsburgh won the Superbowl this year, I’m hopeful that they will include the pic of my little guys if they run a sequence of Steeler babies. In fact, it was more than just a secondary reason that I rooted for them to win.

I would be absolutely THRILLED to see my boys on TV. It would be better than anything to see them and maybe hear a random half scripted comment about them from a celebrity who gets paid to make said comment. Nonetheless, I love the show and would be ecstatic to see my kids on the tube.

That’s understandable, right?

Well, not to my three year old. Everyday we have the same argument.

It goes just like this:

Sam “I don’t want to watch this” *turns off TV*

Me: “Well, you had your turn with the TV, and now it’s mommy’s turn. Now, I’m going to turn the TV back on. If you can’t respect that it’s my turn to watch TV, then you’ll have to go to your room. Mommy wants to see if you and baby are going to be on TV today.”

Sam: “But I don’t want to be on TV!!!”

Me: “Well, that’s too bad, mommy wants to see you.”

Sam: *cries…pouts…acts like a child…then spouts off random gibberish, requests juice, etc in effort to distract me from show*

I have been having that exact exchange with him everyday for two weeks.

In the previous weeks on the show they just threw up random pics here and there to promote the contest. But next week is Beautiful Baby Week. It’s kind of a big deal to me. I know it’s silly, but I know I’ll be a little nervous, excited, hopeful. Watching with urge-to-pee anticipation….

So I’m wondering, is it possible to make this three year old a Steeler fan, a Regis and Kelly fan, or just a general I-wanna-see-myself-on-TV fan by then?

Doubtful, I know.

 

Entry filed under: rants. Tags: , , .

Well, That’s Life New in Town

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KathyB!  |  March 5, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Now I’m going to have to start watching for a cute Steelers picture with two kids! Your son will come around eventually. I think they’re just naturally contrary at that age regardless of what’s at stake.

    I so hope your kids get their picture flashed!

    Reply
  • 2. ck  |  March 5, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Bribery, my friend. Bribery of the candy and DVD persuasion. Of course if the pictures don’t flash by the time the sugar dips into the blood stream, you might be worse off than before.

    “cries…pouts…acts like a child…” Love that line!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

