Brother Love

March 17, 2009 at 11:26 am 4 comments

Since we brought the baby home from the hospital, Sam seemed to think of the baby as “his.” A step up from a toy, but a step down from the dog. Now that the baby is crawling, he seems to have promoted baby to house pet.

He loves to feed him those little easily dissolving baby snack puffs like he feeds the dog doggie treats. He spends his days lately encouraging the baby to chase him around the house, …“here little baby brotherrr,“ I hear him prompt. Sam loves to pick baby up and carry him from room so Max can watch him play. Yesterday he grabbed the baby by the arm and dragged him into the bathroom like a little rag doll so baby could watch him go potty. (Yes, he’s learned not to pull his brother by his arm. No, I don‘t think his desire to have his brother watch him take a dump is grounds for counseling. Not yet.).

Baby spends his days with excited shrieks and giggles. He LOVES all the attention from big brother Sam. Big bro has trumped mommy in the family hierarchy since the beginning. It warms my heart to see his face light up when he sees his big brother. There’s nothing better than watching the baby eagerly make his way toward Sam with his cute little diapered bottom in the air, his pudgy little legs dragging wobbly across the carpet, and a huge toothless grin beaming across his face.

This having two kids thing is getting more fun. I know that all too soon the jealousy and fighting will set in and little bro will cramp big bro’s style. But for now, I savor watching the two of them enjoy each other. I don’t want to forget this …these days when Sam wants his little brother around. When he calls “here little baby brotherrr.”

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

Entry filed under: life, Motherhood. Tags: , .

Family Equation I’m No Superwoman

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KathyB!  |  March 17, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    It does go soooo fast. They’ll fight later, but they’ll always have a special spot for each other, too.

    Such a sweet post!

    Reply
  • 2. ck  |  March 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I like that Max has been promoted to house pet. That’s good, and so important for his self-esteem!

    As for the jealousy, I’m was so busy waiting for my older daughter to get jealous of my younger daughter that it shocked me when it was the other way around. The younger one started getting very possessive, but at least the older one is old enough to chat about it with me and not take it personally.

    The relationship between your boys sounds just like the one between my girls! I LOVE how much my girls love each other.

    Reply
  • 3. faemom  |  March 18, 2009 at 4:14 am

    That is so cute. Especially treating the little one like a pet. My boys are now in the rough and tumble stage of accidently hurting each other.

    Reply
  • 4. Gibby  |  March 18, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    My younger daughter feels the same way about her sister that Baby does about Sam, and she is four already. (OMG!) Yes, the fighting has definitely begun, but that adoration is still there. I love to see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

