I Never Thought I Would Say…

March 23, 2009 at 1:45 am 6 comments

There comes a time in a mother’s life when she hears herself say things she never thought she would say. Not because she made a conscious decision not to say them, but because she could not have possibly imagined a scenario that there would be a need.   For me, I really started to hear myself when my first was 18 months old.

Back then, what I caught myself saying was mostly a result of things going into his mouth…

What I heard myself saying (that I never thought I would) when Sam was 18 months:

Me to my hubby (as we look at the little teeth marks on the wrapper): “What if I get pregnant with our second because our first chewed a hole in the condom?”

“Ewww, don’t lick the bottom of your shoe! Eeeeeewwwwww!!”

***

Yesterday, I realized that there has been a shift. He’s older now, more mature. He no longer has a need explore with his mouth. I had a little conversation with him yesterday that let me know that the things I hear myself say now is a result of the things that come out of his mouth…

Sam spotted me in the kitchen spreading butter on bread and unwrapping Kraft singles cheese slices. Since he’s a kid unlikely to be left out of the process of grilled cheese preparation, he pushed a chair up to the counter and climbed on for a better look. He didn’t ask for a piece of cheese or for his turn to spread butter. Instead he leaned over the tub of Country Crock like it was a sink and he was brushing his teeth…

What I heard myself saying (that I never thought I would) now that Sam is age 3:

“Ew, did you just spit in the butter?”

(very matter-of-factly) “Yes”

“Whyyyy?”

“Because I don’t wike butter.”

=======================
….oh, the joys of motherhood
=======================

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

Entry filed under: life, Motherhood. Tags: .

Convenience Dreaming of Hairbows

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KathyB!  |  March 23, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    “Me to my hubby (as we look at the little teeth marks on the wrapper): “What if I get pregnant with our second because our first chewed a hole in the condom?”

    I’m getting to the point where I almost feel as though I’ve heard it all… and then I hear something like that! THat’s one for the baby books!

    Reply
  • 2. ck  |  March 23, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Oh, it gets better.

    Just wait until he starts making up stories with no point that go no where.

    My favorite was hearing myself respond to my daughter’s story about the “girl” she met at the park and went to Africa with.

    “Wait? Did you just say you went to Africa with a girl named Vagina?”

    Reply
  • 3. faemom  |  March 24, 2009 at 4:24 am

    And to think of all those years still ahead and all those things you thought you would never say.

    Reply
  • 4. D  |  March 24, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Soooo, DID you get pregnant with #2 because #1 chewed a hole in the condom?

    That’s funny.

    Reply
    • 5. tlc  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:28 pm

      No D, but I kinda wish I did. What a great story that would be!

      Reply
  • 6. I Never Thought I Would Say…(cont.) « Spilled milk  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    […] 6, 2009 The list of things that I hear myself saying (that I never thought I would) now that Sam is age 3 just […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

