Some Guys Have All The Luck

April 3, 2009 at 2:07 am 8 comments

I sat in church one Sunday morning, quietly daydreaming and half listening to a member go on about a recent mission trip to …somewhere.

A sudden vibration against my hip startled me back into reality and prompted me upstairs to the nursery. The church assigns pagers to parents just in case a child is behaving like a obnoxious little jerk misbehaving, or in case the child is an emotional attention hog crying inconsolably.

Our little guy had been in the nursery every week for two months with no separation anxiety, no problems, and we always got reports back from the volunteers about how pleasant he was. What could be wrong? He was fine when we left him.

When we dropped him off, he planted a big, wet, open mouth, suction baby slobber “kiss” on my cheek (so gross, but so sweet), I handed him over to the nursery helper, wiped my cheek off, and peaked back a few seconds later to see if he might cry.

Nothing.

He was very happy leave us and play with his little baby friends. Doesn’t he worry he might miss us or fear we might not return? It was hard not to take his joy a little personally.

But, something happened in a short 30 minute span to reverse his joy, and we were paged. When I got to the room lined with exersaucers, cribs, and highchairs, I saw that none of those items were being used. Instead, one volunteer held my sobbing 9 month old son while 4 little girl babies lay in the middle of the floor, wailing.

Apparently, our little Casanova crawled around to all the little girls and “kissed” their heads. None of the girls responded well to my son baptizing them in massive amounts of drool while sucking on their little heads. All four became emotionally traumatized by our son’s advances.

So, he experienced his first rejection and became inconsolable. We called him Georgie Porgy for the rest of the day, since he kissed the girls and made them cry.

***

That happened to my first son three years ago.

Now my second little heart breaker’s suction kisses have emerged. He gives me slobber love all day, and like his brother’s sloppy smooches, they gross me out as much as they warm my heart.

This week I watched my little guy’s trademark grin punctuate his face as he spotted a cute little girl crawling around on the floor in the nursery. I put him down and he quickly crawled toward her. Then, like his brother, he laid a big, sloppy wet one on her. She tilted her head and looked in his direction. She didn’t cry or seem displeased. On the contrary, she reached out and grabbed at him, much to his delight. No trauma, no rejection. Just pleased affection.

…Some guys have all the luck.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , , , , .

What Not to Wear I Never Thought I Would Say…(cont.)

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiffany  |  April 3, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Geez! I love slobbery kisses…what’s wrong with these girls??? 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Ink  |  April 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Oh, so cute. I miss those slobbery kisses…

    Reply
  • 3. parenting BY dummies  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    So cute! My little dude had his first dance at his brother’s preschool Easter party yesterday. That little chick didn’t have a chance against his foot stomping rump shaking moves. She liked it though and I know she wants more. However, the girls next door literally run when they see him coming. Not sure what it means that my 1 year old already has the ladies on the run?:)

    Reply
  • 4. ck  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    I loved those kisses too. So did my husband…until our first daughter slipped him the tongue. It’s take 3 years, but I think he’s over it.

    Reply
  • 5. KathyB!  |  April 4, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Those slobbery kisses are the best (even if they are just the slighest bit gross). I’m glad your younger son is running with a more refined crowd who obviously appreciates the finer things in life, like a good slobber kiss.

    Reply
  • 6. Gibby  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Uh oh! I wonder what the high school years will be like!

    Kidding, so cute! And yes, I miss those kisses, too. I am lucky if I get a peck these days.

    Reply
  • 7. faemom  |  April 8, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    So adorable. And how cute that your second fond a girl his style so quickly. Quick, meet her parents.

    Reply
  • 8. Zeemaid  |  April 11, 2009 at 1:47 am

    awww that’s so sweet. I’d love some slobbery kisses. O will be 2 in 2 weeks and he’s already into say yech every time momma wants a kiss.. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

