Obsessed

February 10, 2010 at 2:40 pm 3 comments

I have an addiction to obsessions.

I tend to obsess over -say, blogging- for a few months then move on to another obsession (like maybe scrapbooking) for a few months, which then gives way to the next obsession, and so on until the cycle repeats itself.

Of all my obsessions, none have caused such parental negligence on my part as blogging.

This being my first post in nearly a year, I haven’t caught blog-mania again just yet. But if this does become my next fixation, I intend to maintain some level of self control and try to keep from neglecting my kids.

So…..
I plan to keep my posts short and sweet…

I plan to refrain from commenting on other blogs for the sole purpose of trying to reel in more comments on my own blog….

I will not force myself to comment on another blogger’s post -even if I really like it- if my comment would be repetitive. Oh why can’t blog comment sections have a “like” button?…

The motivating force behind the desire to write publicly this time around is to keep myself accountable. I want to remember not to forget to record the thoughts and feelings of my third pregnancy.

With my second pregnancy, I saved e-mails between myself and a pregnant friend. Those e-mails contain all of my pregnancy cravings, aversions, joys, frustrations, and hormonally charged quirks. I want to use this blog to record all of those same things. I want to look back and be able to say that this baby didn’t get shafted just because I was busier, more exhausted, and lacked the self-discipline to write regularly in a baby book.

I can be a good mom to a third child. Even if it means neglecting the other two a little….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weighting on Inspiration 16 weeks

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ck  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS and welcome back!

    (And thanks for the baby book reminder. I still need to take my second daughter’s book out of its box.)

    Reply
  • 2. faemom  |  February 12, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Congratulations!
    That’s a good goal, recording your pregnancy. So is trying not to get obsessed with blogging. It’s easy to have it consume your life.
    I’m glad your back!

    Reply
  • 3. sahm i am  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Welcome back and congratulations! I know what you mean about wanting a “like” button for blogs. Sometimes I’m so brain dead that I can’t glue words together properly but would like to let people know I appreciated their post. I just keep telling myself that most people appreciate even a “Nice post. You made me laugh/cry/spit up” comment even if it’s repetitive and brief. I’ve also stopped beating myself up over ignoring my blog. It’s not the end of the world. Having said that I do think that documenting your 3rd pregnancy via this blog is a very good goal. Good luck! Looking forward to reading all about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Proud member of Mom Blog Network Vote for my blog Spilled MIlk on Mom Blog Network

